Get 1 year of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Sunday, September 26, 2021

HOATalk is a free service of Community123.com:

Easy to use website tools to help your board
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: Verifying Vendor Insurance
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
RoseM9
(Texas)

07/15/2021 8:58 AM  
Good morning,

Is it common practice to call the insurance company on a vendor's COI to confirm the coverage? I'm a newer property manager, so we are still learning best practices and industry standards.

I recently ran into a doctored COI, so I'm curious what the common approach is.

Thank you.

MaxB4

07/15/2021 9:09 AM  
I never have. I look at a lot of COI's and you're looking for specific information in regards to coverage. I handle over 500 COI's for all association and would be spending weeks verifying and then start the process all over again on renewals. I haven't had to file a claim against any vendor in over 13 years. That's a bonus.
MelissaP1
(Alabama)

07/15/2021 9:22 AM  
I just make sure it is on their business card, contract, or receipt they are licenced and insured. Something that if had to go to court proves they represent themselves as insured, licenced, or bondable. Plus never trust a BBB stamp. Verify they are BBB members.

Former HOA President
RoseM9
(Texas)

07/15/2021 9:23 AM  
Thanks Max.

That's about what I figured. I look at the expiration dates, coverage limits, and so forth, and keep them on file.

I was concerned if we (management) were potentially at fault/liable for not calling the insurance carriers for vendors when we receive them.

It's been forged for years it turns out..

Thank you for sharing your experience.

JackJ9

07/15/2021 9:23 AM  
Posted By RoseM9 on 07/15/2021 8:58 AM
Good morning,