Get 1 year of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Tuesday, August 11, 2020

HOATalk is a free service of Community123.com:

Easy to use website tools to help your board
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: Restraining orders and the HOA.
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
MichelleC8
(California)

05/21/2020 11:36 AM  
I had this conversation with another homeowner. / board member. I wondered if an HOA ever had to pursue an restraining order for a resident or owner who kept doing what they were doing despite fines, hearings and cease and desist letters..

JenniferA6
(California)

05/21/2020 12:18 PM  
I'm not a lawyer but I believe a restraining order is about 'protection' and normally is used to ensure people are kept safe. You might be thinking about a 'cease and desist' letter which I believe is often the last step before legal action is performed.

SheliaH
(Indiana)

05/21/2020 12:29 PM  
We've never done it, although there was one occasion where several homeowners and a few tenants renting out their units came to a board meeting after we established a towing policy. I was at my part time job at the time, but later heard it wasn't pretty - the reason no one went off was because our security officer (an off duty cop) was also there. The meeting was later canceled, and the officer told everyone to git and they did.

In your case, it depends on what the homeowner's doing. For example, if this person is harassing a board member for whatever reason, the board member should notify the police, because that's a criminal issue, not an HOA issue. The HOA could tell the homeowner he/she cannot attend meetings for frequent bad behavior, but they should have documented all those incidents.