Get 1 year of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Tuesday, August 11, 2020

HOATalk is a free service of Community123.com:

Easy to use website tools to help your board
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: New to Community Management
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
KimN
(Virginia)

09/18/2019 7:35 AM  
Hey everyone,

I'm new to community management, and figured I'd get some help from seasoned professionals.

I currently work at a family owned real estate brokerage. I handle the admin/financial work for the office. We currently handle residential rentals/sales and property management for individual owners. Our broker decided he'd like us to get into community management. I took the starter course through CAIonline a couple months ago, then got word that we will be managing our office building soon (12 units).

I will then be our "all in one" association manager. I'll be handling all financials and management for our building, in addition to the work I already do now and I'm just kind of feeling overwhelmed. I've gotten a vendor list and most of the documents (I think) I need to get started from the previous management company. Since I don't have any experience in this, what are some tips you guys have for getting set up without stressing myself out even more? I know I need software as well as setting up any existing contracts and utilities in our name. I'm just kind of scared I'll miss something important because all this work will be on me, I won't have any help in the office other than someone else signing any checks.
JamesS38
(Alabama)

09/18/2019 7:40 AM  
Run, run away as fast as you can.
SheliaH
(Indiana)

09/18/2019 8:56 AM