Get 1 year of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Monday, April 06, 2020

HOATalk is a free service of Community123.com:

Get 1 free year community website and email newsletter hosting from Community123.com!
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: Voting rights of the membership
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
LarryW5
(Ohio)

02/17/2013 8:41 AM  
This is my first time posting on HOAtalk I have been on many committees and volunteered my services as well, I have not yet been a board member but will be running in the upcoming election. Since I am considering running for the Board, I have spent many many hours reviewing State Laws, and our own governing documents so that have proper knowledge of these governing documents which we are supposed to follow. My question to this forum and to all the knowledgable persons who help give advice is as follows.

I am trying to decipher what the members correct voting rights are. In the past only members in good standing were allowed to vote on amendments to either by-laws, The CC&R's which are our deed restrictions or The Articles of Inc. In reading our documents I noticed that there is conflicting wording between the CC&R's, By-laws and Articles. Listed below are actual quotes from our governing documents:

Articles of Inc.: 1)Voting Rights: Each member of the Corporation shall be entitled to such voting rights as provided in the By-Laws of this Corporation.
2)Amendments to these articles shall require the approval of members excerising not less than a majority of the voting power of
members.

CC&R's: AMENDMENTS: The right is hereby expressly reserved to amend, annul, waive, change, enlarge and modify any of the restrictions herein