Get 1 year of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Friday, December 03, 2021

HOATalk is a free service of Community123.com:

Easy to use website tools to help your board
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: President Resignation
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
JonB2
(South Carolina)

10/27/2021 12:35 PM  
Hello, I am fairly new to my position as HOA President in our neighborhood. Our board is made up of volunteer positions. I have not enjoyed my time in the position and personality is just not cut out for some of the decisions that need to be made. I am trying to decide if I should step down from my role. Is this common? What is the best way to handle this decision?

Thanks just looking for some guidance. I have no hard feelings for the current board they are phenomenal to work with. Just not a good fit for me personally.
TimB4
(Tennessee)

10/27/2021 12:53 PM  
Jon,

You first posted in March. At that time you posted you were a few months into the position. Expecting that this is a one year position, you are almost done (perhaps, 2 or 3 meetings left).

If it were me, I would stick out the year and then (if you want to stay on the board) say that you do not have the time to be president and someone else will have to fill the job. If you don't want to stay on the board, then simply not run for reelection.

If you are in a multiple year position, I would simply say that you are finding the position of President to take more time then you can give and that you will resign from the position effective mm/dd/yyyy (I would suggest after the annual meeting if you can stick it out that long).
CathyA3
(Ohio)

10/27/2021 1:05 PM