Get 1 year of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Monday, December 06, 2021

HOATalk is a free service of Community123.com:

Easy to use website tools to help your board
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: HOA blocking speech between owners
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Page 1 of 212 > >>
Author Messages
BradT4
(Illinois)

08/20/2021 3:32 PM  
As a retired carpenter I know a lot about construction and maintenance of buildings. Over the last 7 years I have helped my friends and neighbors with issues pertaining to this subject.
I just got a violation notice that says that I can not talk to contractors or other owners about work being done on and around our buildings.
The only contact I have had with a contractor was a couple of weeks ago when a paving contractor came out to try to fix a mistake they made in grading our new asphalt, leaving a large puddle of water on our drive that used to drain out to the main drive and then to the sewer. I had requested from our management company that someone be here to monitor what would be done, but no board member of rep from the management company was here.
I did not try to tell the workers what to do, only that what they did was not the right thing to do as I foresee winter with frozen puddles on the new asphalt, and there is still water sitting on the drive after rain.

As far as talking with other owners, of course we talk. I have become good friends with many of the owners and have helped others with advice or helped make repairs.

The sections of the Bylaws that the attorney quoted had nothing to do with talking to other owners.
One section simply says the affairs of the Association shall be vested in the board.
The other: Contracts. The board may authorize...........approve contracts, in the name of the Association.