Get 1 year of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Sunday, September 26, 2021

HOATalk is a free service of Community123.com:

Easy to use website tools to help your board
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: Florida HOA Statutes on terms LOT/Units
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
JohnP49
(Florida)

07/09/2021 11:02 PM  
I am a resident of a Builder Run - Management Company regulated HOA.

I have a few questions which I will keep short and simple.

1. The Florida Statute states that if a builder owns 11% or more of the lots/Homes within a community they maintain control of the HOA. If the builder owns no lots or homes but has intentions on building additional phases within our subdivision, can the builder still maintain control simply on hopes to build more phases. Or does the builder have to turn it over to the residents since he owns no lots or buildings, just land in the surrounding area. The homes that are owned within our entire Plat are owned by homeowners only.

2. If the Florida Statute stipulates that the builder must turn over the HOA within 90 days after 90% of the lots/homes are sold and then puts out covenants that states the number is 95% instead of the 90%, is the builder allowed to add to the law that's prescribed at only 90%?

3 In Florida Statute, it states that the homeowners have the right to assemble in common areas. Does the builders management company have the authority to deny a request to use the clubhouse for a homeowner meeting among themselves unless a member of the management company is there?

4. Please let me know if there is anything you know that allows the builder "Indefinite" control of the HOA until the other building projects are started? At the moment no ground is yet to be cleared for future phases.