Get 1 year of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Sunday, November 28, 2021

HOATalk is a free service of Community123.com:

Easy to use website tools to help your board
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: HOA Management Company refusing to disclose basic HOA information?
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
AdamL1
(Idaho)

07/06/2021 10:38 AM  
So wondering what your input is here. I'm new to the HOA world and trying to understand how it works.

Our HOA has not held a meeting since May of 2019, due to covid. I emailed the management company asking for basic information like Who are the names of the members on the Board, the President, Treasurer, etc. What are the various committees the HOA runs? What is the election schedule and procedure? How are nominations made? How are agenda items added and determined? How is voting performed?

The Admin responded saying that there won't be a meeting "until we are out of COVID," and that they will not provide names, contact information, or details about the board or committees due to concerns of privacy and safety, specifically saying "there might be some nut job that wants to harass a board member"

So I guess my questions are about how this is allowed? How is it secret to know the information of a publicly elected HOA board?
AugustinD

07/06/2021 10:48 AM  
AdamL1, google for the Idaho Nonprofit Corporation Act. Find the section that addresses inspection of records by members. Make a formal request to the HOA's registered agent for the past two years of Minutes of Board meetings, quoting the pertinent section of the Idaho Nonprofit Corporation Act. You can also request the HOA's tax forms. These often give the name of board members.

Get a copy of the Bylaws and review its requirements.