Get 1 year of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Saturday, May 15, 2021

HOATalk is a free service of Community123.com:

Easy to use website tools to help your board
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: Home erected against Covenants
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
TereseS
(Kentucky)

04/27/2021 6:46 PM  
I'm new to our community and offered to be HOA Secretary. Our Covenants state, in a round about way, all homes need to be built on site and not "hauled" in. In someone's great wisdom they included the verbiage that Single Wide Trailers are not allowed, so some assumed Double Wides were.

a few years ago, the board was in transition to due a few deaths, and a lot owner came to a new board member and asked if they could have a Modular Home.

Long story short... It's a double wide trailer. It's not like we are going to tell her to remove it after 18 months, so we need to write a letter of sorts (Covenant Exception Letter??) and put it in her file. We also plan to amend our Covenants to clean up the verbiage and add that all residential structures/plans need to be approved by the board so this can't happen again.

We are a small community and currently only have 6 homes on lots.

Any assistance on this would be great.

Thank you,

Terese
AugustinD

04/27/2021 6:59 PM  
Appeals courts have heard a fair amount of disputes involving covenant wording about the types of homes allowed in a HOA. In my opinion, your board should tell an HOA-specialized attorney what you want for a proposed amendment to the covenants and also what you want in this variance letter. The variance letter should meet some legal standard set by either the covenants or case law.