Get 1 year of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Monday, November 29, 2021

HOATalk is a free service of Community123.com:

Easy to use website tools to help your board
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: Board President wants vote to cut her dues
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
ElizabethC2
(Illinois)

04/28/2006 10:30 AM  

Hello. I'm new to the condominium community and a first time home buyer. In the past six months I have come to realize there is a lot to learn when it comes to living in a condo. The condo complex I live in has 18 units and a self managed association board. Currently, there is a very big issue on the table.

The condo board president wants to vote to cut her assessments in half for two months. The reason? She says she's been dealing with alot of issues and has spent an extra 13 hrs of work. Just to give you some background, the storage unit partially flooded with sewer water and two residents were broken into.
My question: Isn't it aginst the condo bylaws to cut an owners dues? If the positions are non-paid and voluntary why should someone get their dues lowered because of their "Voluntary" service?

Thank you for any input you can provide.

-Elizabeth
JulieS
(Georgia)

04/28/2006 10:59 AM  
The by-laws and covenants should be very specific regarding this issue. She is volunteering her time and therefore no compensation or benefit should come from serving on the board.
ElizabethC2
(Illinois)

04/28/2006 11:09 AM  
Thank you very much for your reply. Some people have already voted to allow this, what do reccomend we do next?
DavidF
(Texas)

04/28/2006 11:40 AM  
Posted By ElizabethC2 on 04/28/2006 11:09 AM

Thank you very much for your reply. Some people have already voted to allow this, what do reccomend we do next?

Elizabeth,