Get 1 year of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Thursday, February 25, 2021

HOATalk is a free service of Community123.com:

Easy to use website tools to help your board
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: HOA Attorney's WHO are they for?
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Page 1 of 212 > >>
Author Messages
JaneL2
(Texas)

02/18/2021 11:20 AM  
Hello, I am a property owner resident in a small townhouse property owners association in Irving, Tx Our so called HOA is a non profit Corporation. One of my neighbors has sued the association for the records and is making demands regarding common areas and landscaping, etc. Our yearly budget includes attorneys fees for the HOA attorney that we have.

Since I pay $230 a month for dues, I believe that the money that I pay is for the attorney as well. One of the board members tells me that I should get an attorney because of this demand and claim against them and could include me.
I believe that I pay for the HOA out of the money I pay in dues.

The HOA attorney is not just an attorney for the HOA board correct? He would be an attorney for the association correct? I am a part of this association.
FloridaC1
(Florida)

02/18/2021 12:06 PM  
The HOA attorney works for the Association plural, not singular as in for any specific owner. When an owner sues the Association, everyone pays for it from the maintenance which is collected for the budget and reserves, so, yes, all owners take a hit when one sues the Association. It would be a conflict of interest for the Association attorney to represent an owner.
JohnC46
(South Carolina)

02/18/2021 12:11 PM  
Posted By FloridaC1 on 02/18/2021 12:06 PM