Get 1 year of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Wednesday, October 28, 2020

HOATalk is a free service of Community123.com:

Easy to use website tools to help your board
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: Brick Wall Replacement Costs
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
AmyJ5
(Texas)

10/13/2020 1:51 PM  
I am new to my HOA Board. My subdivision consist of 26 single family homes in a gated community in TX. Being so small, we only have gates and flower beds that I can see a common property. But the CCR's, written in 2005 and never updated, state all private fences, walls, and gates are considered common areas. We have 5 homes that share the brick wall and it is 100% on each home owners survey as their back fence. The Pres and VP live in 2 of the 5 homes on the wall. They already paid 27k for house 1 to get a new wall and they sold it as soon as the mortar was dry. It took 1.5 years of dues to pay for that. Now that I have brought it up about it being on private property and could it be considered Limited Common area, they are livid with me. Both say they were promised by former Pres (in house #3 on the wall) that HOA would pay for it and if it doesn't, they will sue!? They said they will contact our house attorney, but when I emailed asking to be let in on the call, I haven't heard back from them. They mentioned holding a special assessment to get it replaced. Previous HOA couldn't get it insured because it was all on private property, but they won't hear it.

Am I the only one that thinks something stinks here? Any suggestions?
GeorgeS21
(Florida)

10/13/2020 2:52 PM  
More will offer likely better advice ... but, it sounds like the Board could be sued but the other owners if they DO pay for the wall repair.

I would consider speaking with an HOA attorney with this one.