Get 1 year of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Thursday, September 24, 2020

HOATalk is a free service of Community123.com:

Easy to use website tools to help your board
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: Husband and wife both serving on committees
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
DavidG45
(Delaware)

09/14/2020 1:36 PM  
We have a few cases in which a husband serves as co-chair on one HOA committee and a wife serves as co-chair on another. I didn't consider this to be a problem because we have trouble finding anyone to step up and volunteer. However, we are now receiving a couple of complaints about the situation. I'm new to the HOA environment, and we are a new HOA, so I would like to get the opinions of others. Legal? Ethical?
MarkM19
(Texas)

09/14/2020 1:46 PM  
David,
It sounds to me that you have a Husband and Wife who care about the Community they live in and have time and energy to volunteer to make it better by giving of their time and talents.

I am curious why this would be questioned? Have they done anything wrong? As Co chairs they have only reporting duties to the Board of Directors who they are serving at the pleasure of at this point. If the HOA board every see that they are not doing the job that they are volunteering for they can be removed very easily by other volunteers.
TimB4
(Virginia)

09/14/2020 1:47 PM  
David,

Ask those who are complaining if they are willing to serve on the committees.

If not, then simply explain we don't have enough volunteers and are happy they are volunteering.

If they are willing, accept their offer and move one of the individuals to a different committee.
DavidG45
(Delaware)

09/14/2020 1:58 PM