Get 1 year of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Thursday, September 24, 2020

HOATalk is a free service of Community123.com:

Easy to use website tools to help your board
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: Home Owners Insurance.
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
RobertW31
(New York)

09/09/2020 10:22 AM  
This should be an easy one but I really don’t know. A tree from a private property owners property fell through one of our community members fence. Our property management company says just pay to have the tree removed and pay for the fence repair and later have our lawyer go to the tree owner to try to get our money back. This seems odd to me but I am not an insurance expert.

Couldn’t our homeowner put in a claim to get the damage repaired and then her insurance company could sort it out with the tree owners insurance company? Would our homeowner have to pay the deductible?

Hope someone knows the ins and outs of this kind of problem. Thanks.
TimB4
(Virginia)

09/09/2020 11:15 AM  
Typically, when a tree falls it's considered an act of God and not something that could be prevented.
When this happens, each insurance takes care of their own property damage and removal of the tree.

Example: Common area tree falls in storm, which damages private property.
Association/Association Insurance pays for removal of the tree on the common are to the private property line.
Private property owner/homeowners insurance pays for removal of tree from property line inward and repair of any property.

IF one can prove that the other party was aware, or should have been aware, that the tree was a hazard to others (i.e. not healthy), one could sue for negligence. Good luck with that.
DouglasK1
(Florida)

09/09/2020 11:21 AM