Get 1 year of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Monday, July 13, 2020

HOATalk is a free service of Community123.com:

Easy to use website tools to help your board
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: When do you decide to move forward on projects?
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
GregM14
(South Carolina)

06/24/2020 6:14 PM  
I am relatively new to the HOA board. We have several big (~$50,000) projects that we are working on. I have volunteered to be the focal for one of them, and this is my experience:

a) Initiate project
b) Hire landscape architect
c) Landscape architect creates preliminary design
d) Board reviews and scales back to reasonable amount
e) Landscape architect creates guesstimate for budget
e) Landscape architect creates final design
f) Project goes out to bid
g) Bids come back and are reviewed by board
h) Board makes decision on whether to proceed with project.

My concern is that trying to accomplish (a) through (g) has consumed a huge amount of time, yet I have little feedback for sure that we are going to move forward with the project. Rather I hear comments like "costs too much!" and "get more bids".

While I understand that it isn't until the final bids come in and someone can sign a contract that a decision was made, it would seem inefficient for a volunteer to spend 50 hours and 3 months working on moving a project forward only to have it nixed at the final step. In fact, if we as the board don't move forward, I probably won't be volunteering again because I have other things to do than spend a lot of hours trying to put projects together that aren't moved forward.