Get 1 year of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Monday, March 30, 2020

HOATalk is a free service of Community123.com:

Get 1 free year community website and email newsletter hosting from Community123.com!
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: Dealing with non-compliant Sheds
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
WalterH4
(Indiana)

03/18/2020 7:18 PM  
I'm new to board leadership, and our HOA has never really dealt with non-compliance beyond notifications. We've only sued for late payments.

So if someone builds a non-compliant shed, what are the best ways to deal with this? Options I see are:
1. First send notices, certified mail, right?
2. Then issue a fine. ??
3. Can we issue a new fine every 3 months until it is rectified?

Or at some point do the fines need to stop and you must bring a lawsuit, or place a lien?

We're looking for the lowest risk way to do it, and avoid bringing in the lawyer fees right off the bat.
JohnC46
(South Carolina)

03/18/2020 8:28 PM  
Walter

The first thing you will need is a published fining schedule, not a what do we feel like fining schedule.

Once that is set, I suggest a warning letter to those in violation offering a plan such as bring the shed to ARC standards or remove it and a time frame to do so or fines will commence.

If no responses/corrective action, then commence fining.

You are a long way from taking legal action at this point.
GeorgeS21
(Florida)

03/19/2020 5:55 AM  
Something like this ...

1. Ensure you have the legal ability to fine.
2. Ensure you have a fine schedule.
3. Ensure you are treating everyone the same for this type of violation. Do you have historical instances? Can you explain how you stopped and then restarted, if this happened?
4. Does the violation process connect with your architectural control process?