Get 2 months of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Monday, January 27, 2020
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: Seeking New Property Management
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
StephenO4
(New York)

12/31/2019 5:23 AM  
I am an officer on my HOA Board. We are in the process of looking for a new Management company. Can anyone suggest a publication, website or your own experience in how to proceed and what to look for and ask when interviewing a company.
MarkM19
(Texas)

12/31/2019 6:52 AM  
Stephan,
Having just spent about 4 months going through the same thing I do have a few tips.

1) Make sure the PMC you are interviewing works with Homeowner boards. Many of the larger companies usually get hired by Developers and they do not make good MCs once the developers turns the community over to the HO Board.

2) Check with as may references as they can give you of similar sized properties.

3) Have a list of questions prepared and take notes of their answers. This should be done by one person and results shared with the whole board.

4) Check out Homeowners Portal and take it for a test drive. Is it better than your last MCs?

5) What do they charge for resale transfers. This is a large profit center for MCs. Compare.

6) Ask for their Boiler Plate contract. Read it as if you are trying to get out of the contract not going into the contract. I always say it is better to think about the divorce than the marriage with MCs.

7) See if they will except changes that you recommend. This says how much they want your business and how willing they are to be a good partner.

8) If you are looking at a new company you already know what you don't like about your old one. Avoid similar companies.