Get 1 year of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Monday, February 17, 2020
Get 1 free year community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: Creating a Municipality or Utility to Govern HOAs
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
LeilaniL
(California)

09/14/2016 1:00 PM  
This post is an offshoot of the thread: "Radically changing HOA governance" to specifically discuss the ideas presented by Fred O'Neal regarding transferring HOA governance to a municipality. Here is his post:

---
You are entirely correct, in my experience. I am a lawyer and I have been litigating AGAINST HOA's for 25 years now. I've made a lot of money off it. In particular, arrogant board members have made me a small fortune by throwing their weight around and trying to use the board's power to crush perceived 'troublemakers.'

If you're interested in where HOA's came from (they, basically, weren't around when I was young), there are two books by a lawyer-turned-professor, Evan McKenzie, which provide the history of the rise of HOA's - "Privatopia" and "Beyond Privatopia."

In my opinion (and though it would hurt my practice), all HOA's should go away once the developer has sold his last unit in the development and they should be replaced either by a governmental unit (e.g. Municipal Service Taxing Unit) or a regulated private utility company. A governmental unit levying and collecting a specially assessed tax on homeowners within the development will eliminate enforcement actions and lien foreclosures - and greatly cut down on attorney's fees and collection actions.