Get 1 year of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Monday, December 06, 2021

HOATalk is a free service of Community123.com:

Easy to use website tools to help your board
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: NC HOA proxy question
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
JulieL9
(North Carolina)

09/10/2015 7:35 AM  
Our board refused to allow a non-member to vote a valid proxy for a homeowner. Our bylaws do not limit the exercise of a proxy to members but the president is claiming that only members can participate. I'm an attorney, but don't deal with this area of law. I've found blog post type articles that indicate that unless specified in the bylaws, one need not be a member to exercise a proxy for a member, but I can't find the authority to back it up. And, the argument that the president is making is not right because the participant is the person who signed the proxy.

Is there anyone here who is more versed in the actual case and statutory law who can send me in the right direction to back up that the board is full of it? And, is the AG the one to whom such a matter would be taken? The homeowner obviously is the injured party here but there's no real showing of monetary damages - but we're a 1963 community so it sounds like this is a violation of the NC Nonprofit Corporations Act.

Thanks!
JohnC46
(South Carolina)

09/10/2015 7:55 AM  
NC Nonprofit Corporation Act says:

§ 55A-7-24. Proxies.
(a) Unless the articles of incorporation or bylaws prohibit or limit proxy voting, a member may vote in person or by proxy. A member may appoint one or more proxies to vote or otherwise act for the member by signing an appointment form, either personally or by the member's attorney-in-fact.