Get 1 year of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Monday, November 29, 2021

HOATalk is a free service of Community123.com:

Easy to use website tools to help your board
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: What can a Volunteer HOA do?
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
TonyS
(Texas)

01/30/2006 6:48 PM  
We are a HOA that was designed as a volunteer HOA. We have common property that needs to be maintained. We have CC&Rs too. But the annual dues at 100.00 are paid by 1/4 to 1/3 of the owners.
It seems the CC&Rs are only a suggestion as are the dues. We can call the local police or the city to enforce city laws.

We are like a glorified under supported neighborhood watch that pay dues and have community property.

I am new to the neighborhood 1 1/2 years. On the board and we are trying to figure out how to strengthen the HOA and encourage more involvement and trying to figure out what our options are.

Is there anyway to put more teeth in the CC&Rs?

Is there any way to make due manditory?

Anyone able to speak to this scenario?

BTW we are in Texas.
RogerB
(Colorado)

01/30/2006 7:41 PM  
TonyS, I am aware of one HOA in Colorado that transitioned from voluntary to manditory assessment. They amended their Declaration in a manner so that current owners were voluntary but upon sale the new owners had a manditory assessment under the amended Declaration. In this manner they were able to get the necessary votes for amending. Over a peroid of a few years their homes are now almost all manditory. Now they have the teeth to enforce restrictions.

RogerB
HankL

01/31/2006 5:40 AM