Get 2 months of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Friday, October 18, 2019
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: In Dire Need
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
CarlaP
(South Carolina)

07/19/2006 7:26 AM  
Hello All-I am a newbie needing lots of guidance and information. I am currently the President of a HOA (LOL) which has not been released by the Developer. I will give some background. I live in a golf community where the developer still collects the homeowner's dues and delivers no budget information, other than an entire budget regarding his golf course as well as the community. While he says he wishes to turn the community over to the homeowner's, he has yet to provide any breakdown of funds, nor establish any "common areas" in the community. There was a president some time ago, who tried to lead the charge of taking over the HOA by obtaining a quorum vote. At the time, there were not enough houses developed to establish that. He even went so far as to create by-laws, get estimates on upkeep, etc. The by-laws were never passed.

I need some guidance if anyone is willing to take the time to help me.

Any information is appreciated.

Thanks
CarlaP
RogerB
(Colorado)

07/19/2006 9:20 AM  
Carla, you did not say which state you live in. Check your Declaration to determine what common areas you have. Check with the Developer to determine if By-laws were adopted to establish the HOA. If not coordinate with the Developer and set up a meeting to establish By-laws and try to get some homeowners on the Board of Directors. Incorporate the HOA and make records available to all members.

Require a turnover audit prior to accepting control of the HOA from the Developer. Search this site for items needed prior to taking over control.
CarlaP
(South Carolina)

07/19/2006 4:21 PM