Get 2 months of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Friday, October 18, 2019
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: dog rules new buyer?
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
HeatherG
(California)

07/18/2006 12:28 PM  
I am a Realtor in Southern California, i have a Condo in escorw for $4.7Million and the rules state there are no dogs allowed over 20 lbs. I have never seen a dog under 20lbs, there are boxers, german shepards, etc. My Buyer wants to cancel the deal because he is afraid, he will run into problems with his dog, which is over 20lbs. He wants the HOA to write him some kind of letter stating he will not receive any problems, and they wont.

Do I go door to door weighing dogs and reporting them, asking them to be thrown out?

Is there some document anyone knows of that I could present the Buyer with? Something so he will feel comfortable and not cancel this deal? Does anyone know of anything????

Please HELP! I can not lose this deal!
WilliamT
(Arizona)

07/18/2006 12:42 PM  
There are many dogs under 20 pounds. All the small breed -- Yorkies, Silkies, small Poodles, Maltese, just to name a few.

You will need to go to the Association Management company. Ask the seller for the adddress. If there is no management company, you'll need to talk to the Board President.

You can ask for an exception to the rule for your buyer, but I doubt you'll get it.

You have no authority to go door to door trying to stir up trouble by reporting dogs that you may "think" weigh over 20 pounds, and would have no knowledge if those dogs are grandfathered into the rule.

To go to door could get you in trouble for trespassing and harasssing. My opinion is that a suggestion like that coming from a a professional realtoris entirely unethical.