Get 2 months of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Friday, October 18, 2019
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: Why is there such incompetence and misbehavior in the world of HOAs?
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Page 1 of 212 > >>
Author Messages
PaulJ6
(New York)

09/21/2019 3:00 AM  
I work in the private sector, with businesses ranging from small ones to large Fortune 50 ones. I see a range of behavior from people in those businesses, but people in a company who have spent a long time in a sector generally know what they're doing and are pretty professional. I may disagree with their decisions, but they usually aren't sloppy, they usually don't break laws and they don't things that, on their face, almost certainly lead to problems.

Homeowners' associations, however, are a different story. In my limited involvement with them, I've regularly seen:

1. Wilful/intentional lawbreaking. For example, when boards are informed of legal requirements (such as requirements to deliver financial and other reports to owners), they yell and deny that they have to.

2. Malicious behavior that is likely to lead to problems. For example, I've seen boards single out owners, mock them at annual meetings and send emails back and forth among board members, stating that they want to "get" the owner. Breach of fiduciary duty, anyone?

3. Incompetence by HOA property managers. I've seen property managers make up fake invoices and give them to owners, post wrong information about owners in public (claiming that the owners are behind on payments to HOAs) and then admit that the information is wrong and the owners don't owe anything.