Get 2 months of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: Property Management Owns Bank Accounts?
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
AndrewG5
(California)

05/14/2019 9:29 AM  
I'm new to the forum and apologize if this question has been asked as I could find a search function.

I'm also new to my HOA board as a first time owner in a 32 unit building and was surprised to see our bank account is under our property management company.

I have a few questions that more experienced people may be able to help with...

1. Is property management owning the bank account a common practice?

If this is a common practice:

2. What are the advantages of property management owning the bank account?

2a. Why doesn't the HOA own the bank account?

Any other thoughts and comments would be helpful!

Thanks!!!
AugustinD

05/14/2019 9:47 AM  
I saw this in my old HOA for awhile. The HOA terminated the property manager for various reasons. A few years later, the property manager was charged with embezzlement from several HOAs, via using this bank account. I am no expert, but I would have zero interest in a HOA that let the property manager control funds in this way. Just being able to follow and audit the HOA's "books" would seem incredibly cumbersome.
RichardP13
(California)

05/14/2019 10:05 AM  
I believe you have a misunderstanding of how banking with a HOA and management company actually work. It is also a question you should have answered by your management company.

As a owner of a management myself here is where we do.