Get 2 months of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: Why would a HOA insurer let the HOA run up a huge legal bill instead of paying a small amount in damages?
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
JohnS111
(New York)

05/03/2019 5:16 PM  
Let's say that James is having a dispute with his homeowners' association over $3,000.

James has plenty of money and will litigate on principle, so he'll spend $30,000 of his own money on legal fees to win in the dispute.

The HOA also spends $30,000 in legal fees, because it has insurance that covers them.

Yet the amount in dispute is only $3,000.

Why in the world would an insurer allow this, instead of the insurer itself just paying the $3,000 to the HOA?

I am new to dealing with HOA insurance coverage and do not understand this.

Thanks.
RichardP13
(California)

05/03/2019 5:34 PM  
Sorry, doesn't work that way.

If, the HOA turned the issue right away, then the insurance company would be control their side of the legal expense. If, the association used their legal counsel, then the HOA will be on the hook, not the insurance company.

But, I am sure all these educated Boards knew that.

Been there, Done that
TimB4
(Virginia)

05/03/2019 5:43 PM  
Insurance companies also litigate on principal.
JohnS111
(New York)

05/03/2019 5:47 PM  
Thanks. The HOA turned the matter over to its insurer immediately. The HOA has been using the insurer's-selected counsel.

I understand that some insurance defense lawyers just run up the bill unnecessarily because they are paid very little per hour and want to make up for that.

But why would an insurer allow $30,000 to be spent on legal fees when the insurer could pay $3,000 to the HOA to cover its loss and be done with this?