Get 2 months of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Monday, December 16, 2019
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: Owner suing HOA counsel, and owner filing derivative suit: real-life stories?
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
JohnS111
(New York)

04/20/2019 2:23 PM  
Has anyone:

1. Seen an owner of a home in a HOA go after the HOA's counsel for damages?

For example, if the HOA's lawyer did something improper and caused damage to an owner, have you seen an owner go after the HOA's lawyer and recover damages, or get some kind of compensation?

2. Seen an owner in a HOA file a "derivative suit"? This is a lawsuit that the owner files herself, on behalf of the HOA, usually after the owner demands that the HOA file the suit and the HOA doesn't.

I'm a lawyer, and I know the law on these topics; I'm not asking for legal advice.

I'm asking for real-world stories about how these situations played out in real life.

For example, when an owner filed a "derivative suit", did the other members of the community cheer her on? When an owner went after the HOA's counsel, did the board fire the counsel? Further, what if an owner filed a "derivative suit" against the HOA's counsel, alleging legal malpractice; did the HOA's board just stay out of the way?

Thanks. Again, I don't want or need legal advice; I'm just looking for anecdotes and people's recollections about how the community responded to situations such as these, and what happened in the end.

AugustinD

04/20/2019 3:06 PM