Get 2 months of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Friday, April 19, 2019
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: Statute interpretation - Record Access timeframe
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
BobB31
(Florida)

04/15/2019 6:34 AM  
I have suddenly become a resource for law questions from my neighbors for some reason, and I do my best to answer them while making clear that I am not a lawyer. So this has come up:

A homeowner has presented a written request for access to our financial records, which the board is willing to comply with. The sticking point is the amount of time being they are willing to make them available at one time. The statute says:

The association may adopt reasonable written rules governing the frequency, time, location, notice, records to be inspected, and manner of inspections, but may not require a parcel owner to demonstrate any proper purpose for the inspection, state any reason for the inspection, or limit a parcel owner’s right to inspect records to less than one 8-hour business day per month

The homeowner interprets this to mean that he must be allowed to spend 8 hours in a single day to peruse the records.
I told him I disagreed because that would seem to contradict the first clause in that sentence.