Get 2 months of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Friday, April 19, 2019
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: Advice on searching for new HOA Management company
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
JohnT38
(South Carolina)

04/07/2019 3:18 PM  
I'm looking for general advice regarding looking for a new HOA management company. I live in a 166 condo community in S.C and we have had our current vendor for 17 years. I've been tasked with comparing price and services offered by other companies. I'm new to this so please let me know if I haven't provided any info that you might need. I'm looking for any general advice that anyone is willing to share and also answers to the following questions:

1.) Is it permissible to provide prospective companies with our current contract? If so, should I black out the company name?
2.) Is there any general rule that HOA management companies use to determine pricing? For example, is the price tied to a formula based on the number of units or a percentage of the annual fees?
3.) If they ask, should I provide them a copy of our budget?

Thanks in advance for your help!
AugustinD

04/07/2019 4:02 PM  
Great question. This came up recently for the municipality where I live. Also at a former HOA it became controversial. Some contracts contain what is known as "proprietary information." For examples of how several cities deal with this in Texas, see http://austintexas.gov/sites/default/files/files/Resource_Recovery/ConfidentialityInRFPs.pdf
. I believe the same issues are consistently arising nationwide, and laws and procedures similar to these Texas cities are in place. Exacting equity in bidding et cetera is becoming a big deal nationwide.