Get 2 months of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: Clubhouse Classes
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
BarbaraG15
(Idaho)

03/01/2019 6:55 PM  
I am a resident of a large subdivision and a volunteer committee member. I also have been teaching free yoga classes in our clubhouse to residents only for two years. Our rules clearly state that if a majority of participants are residents then the rental fee is waived. It is all residents, the class is free, no monies collected. Besides this, I am certified in teaching yoga. No liability waivers are used. I believe I am protected as the class is free but I have suggested to our Board that I could use standard liability waivers. Instead they have suggested a Use Agreement.

I joined the committee to review member rules. After hours of dedicated volunteer hours and the rules nearly finalized, the head of the committee has held meetings without notifying me and another committee member. They also have sent out emails finalizing the rules with no final input from the two of us. An additional new rule was added about groups using the clubhouse. This was never discussed with the entire committee. The new rule wants those using the clubhouse regularly to complete a Use Agreement. However, they have not included what this agreement is about. I suspect it may be placing liability on one person, whomever is leading the group. So far, no one is replying to our questions. Am I correct in believing that a Use Agreement would be discriminatory? All HOA members pay the same fee but of course there are varying levels of use.