Get 2 months of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: Bad management company
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
YvetteC
(Texas)

09/25/2005 4:45 PM  
I'm very new to the hoa matters in my subdivision. I live in Texas and my subdivision has about 300 homes. The president has tried on his own unfortunately to make decisions in the best interest for the rest of the community. His lack of communication skills seems to be his not being able to speak English fluently. People in the meeting were livid that they had not been talked with only the Spanish speaking homeowners.
I believe that he has no prior hoa experience and has been asking for help and advice from the representative from the management company.

We are about $90,000 in the hole from purchasing land to build a pool, with no reserve. The developer did not want to cut a deal on the 2 lots purchased. Our community ended up paying $45,000 per lot when it was only worth $16,000. From my point of view the rep. from the management company has been giving a lot of bad advice to the president and then washing his hands of all the issues that are brought up at the meetings.
I've tried to communicate with another hoa that had recently stopped using this same management company but they have not responded.

I know this is pretty lengthy but does anyone have any suggestions as to what can be done. The contract for this management company is up in 6 years.
LisaS
(Illinois)

09/28/2005 6:55 PM  
A lot of damage can be caused in 6 years, so getting involved and educated now is a very good idea. Your property value and equity are at stake.