Get 2 months of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Sunday, May 19, 2019
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: HOA Management company refusing to say which houses have unpaid dues
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
JeremyM3
(North Carolina)

11/15/2018 7:36 AM  
I'm a resident and the HOA management company is refusing to tell me which 1 house has unpaid dues (They were due January 2018 and they are still unpaid as of November 2018)

I'm in North Carolina, and the North Carolina Planned Community Act law says:

Chapter 47F-3-118. Association records
"(b) The association, upon written request, shall furnish to a lot owner or the lot owner's authorized agents a statement setting forth the amount of unpaid assessments and other charges against a lot. The statement shall be furnished within 10 business days after receipt of the request and is binding on the association, the executive board, and every lot owner. "

It says "shall furnish to a lot owner or the lot owner's authorized agents a statement setting forth the amount of unpaid assessments and other charges against a lot."

I am a lot owner. The last words there say "against a lot". Not "Against your lot only".

Is the mangement company correct, or am I correct?
RoyalP
(South Carolina)

11/15/2018 7:46 AM  
Let the attorneys order new cars ...................

IMO: you are interpreting a 'vague' section as you would like it to be
KerryL1
(California)

11/15/2018 8:13 AM  
Yes, is too vague. "Against A lot" makes it sound like a particular lot. But, idk. Attorney can probably answer for $250. Why not just get the amounts owed? why do you want info telling you which lit? Is it to see if the owner is qualified to serve on the board?
JeremyM3
(North Carolina)

11/15/2018 8:20 AM  
Posted By KerryL1 on 11/15/2018 8:13 AM