Get 2 months of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Saturday, March 23, 2019

SBCA: Free education for HOAs and condos on satellite placement issues.
(National Trade Organization)
Helping HOAs, condos and property managers with satellite placement issues since 1986.
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: what should be my first step? apparent rule not being enforced
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
PaulB14
(California)

07/17/2018 4:55 AM  
Im new here and new to living in a HOA. My convenants say garages are to be used for parking cars. Not storing junk, refriderators etc. Many renters and owners are not following this. Since Im new to this I figured I'de start by asking what I should do first. thanks a bunch.
MelissaP1
(Alabama)

07/17/2018 5:09 AM  
Go to your board meetings. Get involved. Volunteer to be the enforcer...

Former HOA President
BarbaraT1
(Texas)

07/17/2018 6:28 AM  
How do you know the rules are not being enforced? Just because a violation is still present doesn't mean efforts haven't been made to resolve it. I am an HOA manager. When I send a violation letter, one of 4 things will happen.

1) the violation is cured
2) the homeowner asks for more time to comply
3) the homeowner completely ignores the letter
4) the homeowner calls me and screams at me and threatens to shoot me if they ever see me in front of their property again.

1 and 3 are the most common, fortunately #4 only happens a few times a year. But please know, if a homeowner refuses to comply, the HOA has limited options. Fines or lawsuits, basically. Fines can be ignored (in my state, you can't file a lien for unpaid fines and must apply any payments received to dues first) and lawsuits are very expensive.

RichardP13
(California)

07/17/2018 7:01 AM  
Paul