Get 2 months of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Thursday, October 18, 2018

SBCA: Free education for HOAs and condos on satellite placement issues.
(National Trade Organization)
Helping HOAs, condos and property managers with satellite placement issues since 1986.
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: Setting up the Chart of Accounts and a budget
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
PaulaW2
(Hawaii)

12/23/2017 1:32 PM  
I am the treasurer for a very small subdivision of 34 lots. We are transitioning to self management so at this point I am in the process of setting up the books using QuickBooks On line. I'm an accountant, so this procedure is not new to me, although being on the HOA board is new. We have no common areas or assets to be serviced. So generally, our COA needs are very simple, and could actually be, Cash and Retained Earnings on the Balance Sheet. But things are never really quite that simple. I'm wondering if anyone has or can direct me to some sample COA's for review? Are there certain accounts I need to include? Mostly the Balance Sheet is my biggest concern.

A couple of other things I am wondering about concerns the use of and reporting of funds used to pay legal fees incurred because one homeowner has violated a provision of our CC&Rs requiring us to engage a lawyer, and also using association funds to clear a lot of weeds if the homeowner continues to ignore our request. We will attempt to collect those costs from the homeowners, so will they be reported on the balance sheet as a payable? What would be the proper title for that type of account? How should those issues be presented in the budget? It seems to me these would be paid from a reserve account and aren't actually "expenses" of the organization.
RichardP13
(California)

12/23/2017 3:09 PM