Get 2 months of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Saturday, November 25, 2017

SBCA: Free education for HOAs and condos on satellite placement issues.
(National Trade Organization)
Helping HOAs, condos and property managers with satellite placement issues since 1986.
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject: A Fair Way to Determine Voting
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
MarkB21
(Tennessee)

09/01/2017 10:41 AM  
I am new to this discussion site, so let me thank you ahead of time for your contributions to my topic.

I am part of an HOA that has 3 different types of owners: Full-time Residents; Part-time/Vacation Residents; and Overnight Vacation Rentals.

The HOA has over 1000 properties/lots (around 600 improved lots) and about 800 owners of those lots. I am part of the ByLaws Committee recently formed to review and make recommendations for additions or amendments to the current ByLaws. The very first ByLaw addresses the definition of a Member and the fact the Members vote at the Annual Meeting for the BOD.

Here is a portion of what it states in Article I: "A member is defined as each individual person owning a vested interest in no less than 25% in one or more parcels of Real Estate located in (the HOA) on the date of the annual meeting, and in addition, must be recognized as a member of the association by the (BOD)." it continues "Each such member shall have one vote in the election of Committee members and the conducting of other business of the Association as may properly come before them."