Get 2 months of free community web site hosting from Community123.com!
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Only members have access to all features.
Click here to join HOATalk for Free! Members click here to login and access all features.
Subject:  Rules of Order...or Procedure. IS THIS NORMAL?
Prev Next
Please login to post a reply (click Member Login on the menu).
Author Messages
LizB2
(Maryland)

06/24/2012 1:20 AM  
When I first moved into our community we used Rules of Procedure. I just attended a meeting and volunteered for our Architectural Committee and I'm a little surprised at how our General Meeting is run and also the Board Meetings. We no longer use the Rules of Procedure but rather the President runs the meetings more like a controlling Elementary School Teacher. It makes everyone feel uncomfortable. Is it normal to stop using them in a small HOA? If so does anyone have any ideas on how to improve the communication within an environment like this?

I'm new to this, but sure willing to learn. Any thoughts are truly welcome.
TimB4
(Virginia)

06/24/2012 5:01 AM  
Liz,

Typically Roberts Rules of Order are only required if specified as required within the governing documents or State law. Many Associations use them as a guide rather than strictly adhere to them. Who is presiding over the meeting will likely determine how the meeting is ran.

It's likely that the other Board members live with the uncomfortableness because no-one wants to take over that position. Otherwise, the Board typically has the authority to remove the member from the Office (but not from serving as director).

As the Fairfax County Community Association Manual states, the purpose of board meetings is to conduct the business of the association. If this is being done, I would recommend that you table this concern until the next election and then vote the person off the Board.